Where the Shadows Lie : Fire and Ice

  • by Michael Ridpath
  • Narrated by Seán Barrett
  • Series: Fire and Ice
  • 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

One thousand years ago: An Icelandic warrior returns from battle, bearing a ring cut from the right hand of his foe. Seventy years ago: An Oxford professor, working from a secret source, creates the 20th century’s most pervasive legend. The professor’s name? John Ronald Reuel Tolkien. Six hours ago: An expert on Old Icelandic literature, Agnar Haraldsson, is murdered. Everything is connected, but to discover how, Detective Magnus Jonson must venture where the shadows lie….


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A great find!

This was the first time I had come across Michael Ridpath and I'm really enjoying the story and the narration by Sean Barrett.The story flows well and you feel a sympathy for the main character, Magnus, which always helps. He's not a perfect character and that makes him more likeable. The description is also good and has made me want to go to Iceland.

The story links to Tolkein's "Lord of the Rings" and this linked to the Icelandic sagas gives an interesting element so the focus isn't just on the experience around the murder but on why it happened.

I'll definitely be reading Michael Ridpath's other novels.
Read full review

- Denise

No brainer

I have listened to this twice already and enjoyed it just as much both times. It's great fun and I love the way it plays with the sagas and that enigmatic 20th Century British saga, The Lord of the Rings.
The characters convince in their settings, but the landscape is a whole intriguing character to itself; the novel has put Iceland high on my list of places to visit.
Sean Barrett's narration is once again peerless - if only they ask him to read every book. He actually bothers to get accents and pronunciation right which is a pure joy.
Can't wait for the next instalment from Ridpath and Barrett.
Read full review

- Nick

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-01-2011
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd