Summary

Paranormal investigator Wolf Kincaid knows what his foot tastes like.
Mostly because he stuck it firmly in his mouth when his lover, Tristan Pryce, accidentally drugged him with a batch of psychotropic baklava. Needing to patch things up between them, Wolf drags Tristan to San Luis Obispo, hoping Tristan's medium ability can help evict a troublesome spirit haunting an old farmhouse.
With Wolf's sister handling Hoxne Grange's spectral visitors, Tristan finds himself in the unique position of being able to leave home for the first time in forever, but Wolf's roughshod treatment is the least of his worries. Tristan's ad-hoc portal for passing spirits seems to be getting fewer and fewer guests, and despite his concern he's broken his home, Tristan agrees to help Wolf's cousin, Sey, kick her poltergeist to the proverbial curb.
San Luis Obispo brings its own bushel of troubles. Tristan's ghost whispering skill is challenged not only by a terrorizing haunting but also by Wolf's skeptical older cousin, Cin. Bookended by a pair of aggressive Kincaids, Tristan soon finds himself in a spectral battle that threatens not only his sanity but also his relationship with Wolf, the first man he's ever loved.
©2014 Rhys Ford (P)2014 Dreamspinner Press
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By S. E. Errington on 17-05-15

Chills and thrills!

What made the experience of listening to Duck Duck Ghost the most enjoyable?

The usual high quality writing and excellent narration.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Duck Duck Ghost?

With a writer as skilled as Rhys, it would be impossible to select just one memorable moment because there are so many!

Have you listened to any of Tristan James’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I've listened to several and without doubt he is a brilliant narrator, and once again delivers the goods.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me smile and also brought a lump to my throat.

Any additional comments?

Yet again another top class story!

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Tams (TTC Books and more) on 21-03-15

Scary, but Sexy!

If you could sum up Duck Duck Ghost in three words, what would they be?

Scary, Sexy and Funny!

What other book might you compare Duck Duck Ghost to and why?

Fish and Ghosts, the first book in the series. Same dry, whitty remarks and unapologetic characters.

What about Tristan James’s performance did you like?

Oh hell yes! He has the baritone to his voice that drips off the earbuds like honey.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes and I tried hard, listening at work, in the car and while I was doing laundry.

Any additional comments?

Not long after Wolf Kincaid convinced his then client, Tristan Pryce a medium and ghost whisperer, that he truly loved him and wanted to be with him, he stepped in it good by accusing Tristan of drugging him. While Tristan is a talented medium, he is a bit naive and sometimes hears only the words he wants to hear during a conversation. Having been haunted and considered insane by most of his family for the majority of his life, Tristan understandably has trust issues. Once Wolf clears his head and shows up on Tristan's door step, apologetic and begging for forgiveness, he thinks Tristan will welcome him with open arms, not quite. Tristan thought evicting the poltergeist from Hoxne Grange would set everything back to business as usual, but there is a lingering affect that is messing with Tristan's abilities. And Wolf thinks a trip to his cousin Sey's supposed haunted home will help Tristan regain a hold of his abilities. But where there is trouble, these two will find it.

The pained spirit of a little girl seems to be trapped in Sey's home after she received a shipment of porcelain dolls to log and date. A spirit that realizes straight away exactly what Tristan is. When push comes to shove and the spry young spirit becomes too much for Wolf, Tristan, his whimsical cousin Sey and bat shit crazy Aunt Gildie to handle, Wolf calls in his overbearing cousin Cin. At the same time a university exchange student shows up to assist Sey with logging the dolls, and unwittingly becomes a vessel for the now very angry spirit. What ensues is a comedy of errors as this motley crew tries to exorcise a very angry ten year old hell bent on destroying them, the house and anything or anyone else that gets in her way. Including a slobbering camel and a couple of clueless cows.

Rhys Fords signature dry wit, sarcastic characters and insane one liners is on full display in this comedic horror story. It really reminded me a lot of that movie Annabelle with the haunted dolls and the angry spirit of the little girl. The story is richly detailed and very graphic when describing the transformation of this little girls spirit as she initially shows up seemingly trying to get Tristan's attention, and quickly goes into full on evil mode with black eyes and splitting lips. I was completely engrossed in the story from the story from the start with Wolf's obvious flub up and visit from his mom who seems to be forever stuck in woodstock mode, but when Ford started detailing what was happening with Tristan I was equal parts horrified and so intrigued I couldn't stop listening. I even listened to this book in the car while I drove, which I never do, the story was that compelling for me.

Narrated by Tristan James who has this baritone voice that just drips off each word like honey. James voice and Fords words are the perfect marriage of sexy innuendos and sultry stated syllables that just bring the story, the characters and the world that Ford created to life. I especially liked crazy Aunt Gildie, she really stole the show for me with her shot gun full of rock salt and her midnight waltz downstairs to the liquor cabinet, only to be foiled by the pissed off spirit of a little girl hell bent on showing them all who is boss. And Ford set the stage beautifully for a naughty little union between one overbearing Hellsinger, Cin, and one prim and proper university student who is recovering nicely from his injuries and is quite good at staring, unabashedly at Cin's shirtless chest. That will be one fun ride, if Cin doesn't break him while spinning him on his...

Definitely a must listen story. Fans of Fords books, James narration and a good murder mystery with a healthy dose of sweaty man sex rejoice, I just found you your next great read!

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By DPiazzi on 14-03-15

great series

love this series, love Rhys Ford, and love Tristan James. however he does mispronounce words/names sometimes which can be a distraction the listening process

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews