The Cold War in Europe 1941-1995 - A Level Series

  • by Mark Hurst, Richard MacFarlane
  • Narrated by Matthew Addis, Jennifer English
  • 2 hrs and 21 mins
  • Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Cold War sent shivers down the spines of ordinary people, with the world holding its breath and confronting the spectre of nuclear armageddon. Throughout this A level series, students will learn about all the core aspects of the Cold War in Europe. Written by Dr Mark Hurst, an honorary fellow at the University of Kent and Cold War specialist and Richard McFarlane, a senior OCR examiner and Head of Humanities at Nottingham Girls High School, the series will not only complement what you learn in the classroom, but will provide you with a university academic's insight into this period of history where brinkmanship between two superpowers was constantly high.
The series examines the following: The situation in 1941, the impact of World War Two, the start of the Cold War, 1945-47, Soviet Expansion and the reaction of USA to increased tension, conflicts over Germany and the creation of Nato, Soviet Control over Eastern Europe, Germany after the division, Attempts at peace and a new Cold War, Gorbachev, Reagan and the end of the Cold War and the collapse of communism in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe. It will conclude with a chapter on exam guidance helping you prepare for your history A Level.
Audiopi series bring together leading academics, teachers and exam board examiners to produce audio tutorials which are engaging, informative and are aligned to the curriculum being studied. They can be used a throughout a period of study, assisting with class preparation, essay writing and ultimately as a resource that leads to exam success.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-09-2016
  • Publisher: Audiopi