A Boy Made of Blocks

  • by Keith Stuart
  • Narrated by Gavin Osborn
  • 11 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Richard and Judy Book Club 2017 Best Seller
A beautiful, funny and surprising story of autism, family and love, perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls' Us and Nick Hornby's About a Boy.
Life is built on the little things....
Eight-year-old Sam has always been different - beautiful, surprising and autistic. For all he loves his family, dad Alex has always struggled to connect with Sam, and the strain has pushed Alex's marriage with Jody to the edge. So Alex moves in with his merrily irresponsible best friend on the world's most uncomfortable blow-up bed, wondering how to win back his wife and son.
As Alex navigates single life, long-buried family secrets and part-time fatherhood, his son begins playing Minecraft. Sam's imagination blossoms, and the game opens up a whole new world for the two to share. Can one fragmented family put themselves back together one piece at a time?
A Boy Made of Blocks is a tear-jerking, hilarious and, most of all, true-to-life novel about the power of difference and one very special little boy.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful

A Boy Made of Blocks is a truly wonderful book! It takes you on the journey of a father-son relationship between Alex and his autistic son Sam.
Alex is struggling and Sam seems unreachable, but they eventually manage to find some common ground through the medium of Minecraft - yes, the pixelated computer game.
It sounds ludicrous but it's beautifully done. As someone with two children who are very much into this game week, I can completely relate. It's actually given me some understanding of it and conversation topics. Real life has imitated art once again.
For me, it isn't a book about autism. It's about families. It is a book about relationships. About how lost we all feel at times. How we're all winging it, pretending that we know how to be a grown up. About grief and how we deal with it. But, most of all, it's a book about being a parent and how challenging that can be sometimes.
It's eye-opening, touching, heartbreaking and heartwarming all at once. It's wonderful.
Read full review

- Patricia Grundy

Very slow

This book was chosen for the book club I belong too, so it isn't the type of book I normally would have read.
Hmmm, I found this book very slow with not a lot happening. It is uplifting, but overall just an ok book!
Out of 9 members in he book club only 2 of us read/listened to it, 2 are trying to finish it. The others gave up.....
Read full review

- Jp

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-09-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK