A Conspiracy of Friends : Cordouroy Mansions

  • by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Narrated by Andrew Sachs
  • Series: Cordouroy Mansions
  • 9 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Corduroy Mansions, Pimlico is an oasis of old-fashioned civilisation, its inhabitants considerate and peace-loving. But beneath the polite exterior seismic change is stirring.
Barbara Ragg makes an eye-popping discovery about her stolid Scottish suitor’s past, while Oedipus Snark – newly appointed and tirelessly self-interested Government Minister – has a close encounter in Switzerland that leaves him a new man all together. Then plucky canine Freddie de la Hay goes missing, and his owner, widower William French, is so shaken by an unexpected declaration of love that he seriously considers making a disappearance himself.
Goodhearted, well-intentioned but often to be found barking up the wrong tree, the residents of Corduroy Mansions remain a thoroughly entertaining example to us all.
This unabridged audio download edition includes exclusive additional interviews with the characters of Corduroy Mansions, voiced by the wonderful Andrew Sachs.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Evelyn Waugh Revisited

This really reminded me of Waugh's work (which I love) and that was strangely unsettling because there were a lot of modern references to technology... yet this story really felt as if it belonged in the 1930s or 40s. I liked it, and enjoyed listening to it, but I couldn't say I was utterly compelled or drawn in by any of the characters. It was very much an ensemble piece. Nice if you're on a long journey, or doing the iroing!
Read full review

- Helen

A great read!

The author reflects humourosly and seriously about everyday life. He uses incidents in the lives of the residents of the flats in an old mansion and in the lives of their friends in order to provide an opportunity to reflect on ethical dilemmas and everyday challenges

Andrew Sachs does a fantastic job narrating the book.
Read full review

- Sara

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-05-2011
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK