A Grief Observed

  • by C.S. Lewis
  • Narrated by Ralph Cosham
  • 1 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Written after his wife's tragic death as a way of surviving the "mad midnight moments", A Grief Observed is C.S. Lewis's honest reflection on the fundamental issues of life, death, and faith in the midst of loss. This work contains his concise, genuine reflections on that period: "Nothing will shake a man, or at any rate a man like me, out of his merely verbal thinking and his merely notional beliefs. He has to be knocked silly before he comes to his senses. Only torture will bring out the truth. Only under torture does he discover it himself." This is a beautiful and unflinchingly honest record of how even a stalwart believer can lose all sense of meaning in the universe, and how he can gradually regain his bearings.


What the Critics Say

"A very personal, anguished, luminous little book about the meaning of death, marriage, and religion." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

a must for anybody alive

this book has two ten minute introductions which i am not reviewing..

i have listened to this book several times now and its raw honesty takes my breath away

no easy answers here thank God, more of a journey through a sea of pain to.. Well the book is a hopeful one i believe and death doesn't have the last laugh.

if like me you haven't really experienced grief but know somebody who has this might help you understand

excellently read by Ralph Cosham.

Read full review

- Austin

Always something to be learned in everything

I am sure if you have lost a spouse and wonder about faith this book could be helpful. If only to know you are not alone in your feelings. Perhaps I expected more spirituality than was ever intended by the author. Somethings can't be explained rather experienced. There is always something to be learned in everything. Hear for yourself and then decide.
Read full review

- Mrs. H. L. Rider

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-01-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.