Summary

Carla Scofield has looked after her family since she was a teenager, but it's never been a bother because there isn't anything she wouldn't do for those closest to her. Warm, friendly, and with the ability to make everyone around her laugh, she carries her burden proudly.
As the years roll past, Carla sees life around her change dramatically. Wartime brings new challenges and a new job for Carla in a sewing factory, and she shines. It also brings with it love, and Carla has a chance at real happiness - but not everyone is rooting for her.
With Christmas ahead of her and her sights set firmly on love and the future, will she be too distracted to sense the danger before it's too late? An East End Christmas is an emotional, compelling and pause-resisting story that will be perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Carol Rivers.
©2015 Elizabeth Waite (P)2015 Soundings
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"If you like your heroines pure, beautiful and universally beloved...and sentiment rather than emotion, look no further." (Historical Novels Review)
"Full of warmth and domestic detail." (Keighley News)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Mrs A A Smith on 03-07-16

Memories

so much of this story brought back memories of times gone bye and old family tales.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amber on 23-12-17

Thoroughly enjoyed this story

I just loved this story easy to listen to and easy to follow I'm hooked on the narrator who brings life to the characters more please.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews