Arcanum Unbounded

  • by Brandon Sanderson
  • Narrated by Michael Kramer, Kate Reading
  • 21 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Welcome to New York Times and Sunday Times best seller Brandon Sanderson's first collection of short fiction.
These wonderful works, originally published individually, have been collected for the first time and convey the true expanse of the Cosmere. Telling the exciting tales of adventure Sanderson fans have come to expect, Arcanum Unbounded includes the Hugo Award-winning novella The Emperor's Soul and the never-before-published Stormlight Archive novella Edgedancer.
The collection includes nine works in all:

Edgedancer (Stormlight Archive)
'The Hope of Elantris' (Elantris)
'The Eleventh Metal' (Mistborn)
The Emperor's Soul (Elantris)
'Allomancer Jak and the Pits of Eltania' (excerpt, Mistborn)
'Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell' (Threnody)
'Sixth of Dusk' (First of the Sun)
'Mistborn: Secret History' (Mistborn)

This superb collection also includes essays which offer insight into the numerous worlds in which the stories are set.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A must for any Sanderson fan


I already had Emperor's Soul and Shadows in my library, so arguably I didn't get my full credit's value. However, I'm not complaining; not only were these stories equally good the second time around, but the rest of the collection makes it well worth it.

Yes, these are all short stories, and while some of them stand alone easily, others can only be appreciated fully if you are familiar with their origin story (eg Kelsier's side story - it runs parallel to Mistborn, so may not make as much sense if you're not familiar with Mistborn).

I also enjoyed the new characters and worlds, eg Dusk, but best of all is the introduction to each story where Brandon Sanderson gives us context and motivation for each story. As a Sanderson fan this was a real treat as it starts to draw threads and links across the Cosmere.

If you're also a Sanderson fan, you can't afford to miss this one!
Read full review

- Robyn

Kramer lets down the team.

Book is great for Cosmere fans but many names are pronounced incorrectly. Considering Kramer is a favoured reader by Sanderson I am surprised that Kramer didn't do his research for the pronouncements of names. The most jarring words came from The Hope of Elantris. There are sources from Sanderson on how to pronounce many of the names in the book. Considering Jack Garret pronounced these correctly in Elantris, it is a shame Kramer didn't bother.
Read full review

- Stupid Reader

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-11-2016
  • Publisher: Orion