Augustus

  • by John Williams
  • Narrated by Robin Field
  • 14 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves' I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.
A mere 18 years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power-Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony-young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor.
Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man's dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

More

What the Critics Say

"Augustus is a masterpiece." (Los Angeles Times)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It was OK.

This is a book written in 1971 - and it shows. It would probably have been better read than listened to. I personally find letters and diary entries a rather tedious way of telling a story (there are some great exceptions, of course). Bringing in a new character writing about something no one would have written about is now way to deliver a story convincingly. I did grow on me, however and I quite enjoyed the second half of the book. This is mostly due to my fascination with the era and the characters rather than the book or the performance.
Read full review

- Tamas Lorincz

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-02-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.