BBC National Short Story Award 2010 (5 Shortlisted Titles)

  • by David Constantine, Aminatta Forna, Sarah Hall, Jon McGregor, Helen Oyeyemi
  • Narrated by Emma Rydal, Ron Cook, Sirine Saba, Hugh Quarshie, Sian Thomas
  • 1 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The 5 shortlisted titles for the BBC National Short Story Award 2010 administered in partnership with Booktrust, containing:
Tea at the Midland by David Constantine, David Constantine 2010
Haywards Heath by Aminatta Forna, Aminatta Forna 2010
Butcher’s Perfume by Sarah Hall, Sarah Hall 2010
If It Keeps on Raining by Jon McGregor, Jon McGregor 2010
My Daughter the Racist by Helen Oyeyemi, Helen Oyeyemi 2010


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Short & Sweet - 5 Brilliant Stories!

Each story is a deserved winner, and 5 very varied scenarios reflecting with themes such as lost love, amnesia, aloneness, madness, justice, betrayal and solidarity (pity there are only 5 stories in all)!

Overall, the collection is less than 2 hrs listening time, and at the end I was left wanting more. My only slight complaint is that on my iPhone, each story is just an anonymous chapter.

I don't know who won, but for me 'My Daughter, the Racist' is the most thought provoking and contemporary account I have heard or read in a long time. It made me weep for the human condition.
Read full review

- Jeremy

Great collection and well narrated

Loced these stories - they are all very different but equally well narrated and thought provoking
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-12-2010
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited