Beach Music

  • by Pat Conroy
  • Narrated by Jonathan Marosz
  • 26 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Pat Conroy is without doubt America's favorite storyteller, a writer who portrays the anguished truth of the human heart and the painful secrets of families in richly lyrical prose and unforgettable narratives. Now, in Beach Music, he tells of the dark memories that haunt generations, in a story that spans South Carolina and Rome and reaches back into the unutterable terrors of the Holocaust.
Beach Music is about Jack McCall, an American living in Rome with his young daughter, trying to find peace after the recent trauma of his wife's suicide. But his solitude is disturbed by the appearance of his sister-in-law, who begs him to return home, and of two school friends asking for his help in tracking down another classmate who went underground as a Vietnam protester and never resurfaced. These requests launch Jack on a journey that encompasses the past and the present in both Europe and the American South, and that leads him to shocking--and ultimately liberating--truths.
Told with deep feeling and trademark Conroy humor, Beach Music is powerful and compulsively readable. It is another masterpiece in the legendary list of classics that his body of work has already become.


What the Critics Say

"Astonishing...stunning...the range of passions and subjects that brings life to every page is almost endless." ( The Washington Post Book World)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

You won't want it to end

This is such a treat, over 20 hours of Southern love, loyalty and friendship interwoven with harrowing descriptions of the Holocaust and mental illness. The descriptions are seamless and you can imagine yourself walking through the decades with the brothers as they grow. Please listen to this one, it's great!
Read full review

- sarahmoose2000

Beach Music

This is a beautiful heart felt book, still my favourite of all time, loved it.
Read full review

- julie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-08-2009
  • Publisher: Random House Audio