Beautiful Storm : Lightning Strikes

  • by Barbara Freethy
  • Narrated by Eva Kaminsky
  • Series: Lightning Strikes
  • 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From number-one New York Times best-selling author Barbara Freethy comes the first book in a new romantic suspense trilogy: Lightning Strikes. In these connected novels, a lightning strike leads to love, danger, and the unraveling of a family mystery that'll change the past and the future....
When her father's plane mysteriously disappeared in the middle of an electrical storm, Alicia Monroe became obsessed with lightning. Now a news photographer in Miami, Alicia covers local stories by day and chases storms at night. In a flash of lightning, she sees what appears to be a murder, but when she gets to the scene, there is no body - only a military tag belonging to Liliana Valdez, a woman who has been missing for over a year.
While the police use the tag to jump-start their stalled investigation, Alicia sets off on her own to find the missing woman. Her search takes her into the heart of Miami's Cuban American community where she meets the attractive but brooding Michael Cordero, who has his own demons to vanquish.
Soon Alicia and Michael are trying to save Liliana's life as well as their own, as someone will do anything to protect a dark secret....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Proper mystery come love story - bit long

If you like a modern love story with a mystery - this is a good read/listen. Some sections were a bit long and predictable, but you can skim/fast forward. I sometimes found the narrator 's voice a bit grating, particularly when speaking male dialogue, but overall I was absorbed and enjoyed it.
Read full review

- ReluctantTechno


What disappointed you about Beautiful Storm?

The story was unconvincing and predictable, the characters boring, the narration poor... Probably the worse audiobook I have ever listened to. Barely managed to finish it.

Read full review

- happybookreader

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-10-2015
  • Publisher: Fog City Publishing LLC