Before We Met

  • by Lucie Whitehouse
  • Narrated by Polly Whitehouse
  • 10 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A whirlwind romance. A perfect marriage. Hannah Reilly has seized her chance at happiness. Until the day her husband fails to come home....
The more questions Hannah asks, the fewer answers she finds. But are the secrets that Mark has been keeping designed to protect him or protect her? And can you ever really know what happened before you met?

More

What the Critics Say

‘A fiendishly spun tissue of lies and charm eventually gives way to a bloody showdown’ INDEPENDENT
‘A creepily effective thriller, Whitehouse… marshals her creations to an enjoyably nail-biting, spine-tingling denouement’ OBSERVER

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well Worth Reading

If you could sum up Before We Met in three words, what would they be?

Well worth reading


What other book might you compare Before We Met to, and why?

I would compare this book to Before I Go To Sleep, which was also recommended by the ITV Crime Thriller Awards


What about Polly Whitehouse’s performance did you like?

Polly reads well, however I personally found some of the pauses too long, otherwise I would have given a five star.


If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

How well can you ever know people?


Any additional comments?

I would have given the book a five star rating if the beginning was written at a faster pace. For me the book was slow starting but it turned into a great plot

Read full review

- katy

A Dark, Twisty Marriage Thriller

'Before We Met' is a surprisingly gripping story. It starts off relatively light and unassuming, however like a loose thread on a sweater, one little tug and everything starts unravelling.
I liked the main character, Hannah, and found her quite believable and I bought into the majority of her actions and choices. However, towards the end of the novel it did have to suspend my belief in order to fully commit to the story.
There's not much I can say plot wise as I am bound to reveal a spoiler. Yet I will say it is an addictive story (I listened to it over three days, going back to the story when ever I had a free moment), the pace is well judged and I loved the narration.
Fans of Louise Douglas, Julia Crouch, Claire Seeber and Hannah Richell will enjoy this novel.
I have to say that it's not as twisted or edgy as 'Gone Girl' which is the Queen of the new "Marriage Thriller" genre, but it's still a great listen and I would definitely consider other titles by this author.
Read full review

- Jeeds

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-09-2014
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks