• by Jilly Cooper
  • Narrated by Ruth Urquhart
  • 5 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bella Parkinson is the most promising actress in London, bright, sexy...and hopelessly scatterbrained.
Rupert Henriques is dashingly handsome and wealthy enough to buy her every theatre in London if she wanted it; he cannot wait to marry her. But Bella has a secret from her past - and the one man who knows it is about to come back into her life again....


What the Critics Say

"Flawlessly entertaining." (Helen Fielding)
"Unputdownable." (Marian Keyes)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Book written in the 60s!

This book was written in the 60s, is very much of its time and therefore it is inappropriate ( as other reviewers have) to compare it to Jilly Coopers more recent books. It has romance and then some very unexpected twists and turns. The narrator copes with these admirably and has a nice tone and pace as well as good characterisation.
Read full review

- CaptainReadALot

Perfect tale of the 70s

I really enjoyed this, and having read the book many, many years ago, the audio was just as enjoyable. BUT - you have to remember that this is a 1970s book, so judging it by today's standards may seem a little odd. For example, 'Bella took her wireless into the bathroom' and 'she read her mail' - now it would be listening to Spotify whilst checking Facebook! So it's a little culture-dated, but if you were alive at that time and can appreciate that kind of normal, this is one of Ms Coopers brilliantly told tales of poor-girl joining high-country society and a thoroughly 5 star story.

The narration had distinctly different voices and the male voices by a female speaker sounded genuine, although I was a bit put off by the slow speed with which every sentence was finished - it gave the narration a rather robotic feel outside of the dialogue. For that reason, 3 for the performance.

Overall, a solid 4 stars and would listen to again.
Read full review

- Becky L

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2017
  • Publisher: Rosa Audio