Beneath a Scarlet Sky

  • by Mark Sullivan
  • Narrated by Will Damron
  • 17 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man's incredible courage and resilience during one of history's darkest hours.
Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He's a normal Italian teenager - obsessed with music, food, and girls - but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.
In an attempt to protect him, Pino's parents force him to enlist as a German soldier - a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler's left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich's most mysterious and powerful commanders.
Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.
Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Powerful and moving

What a story, what a man. A very touching thriller of a story that high lights events and history is a page turner. Well narrated too.
Read full review

- n a howlett

A moving story

An absorbing story which brought home the brutality of the second world war, along with acts of extraordinary heroism and personal courage.
Read full review

- Mr. S. Ross

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-05-2017
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio