Bertie Plays The Blues : 44 Scotland Street

  • by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Narrated by David Rintoul
  • Series: 44 Scotland Street
  • 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Even down to its well-set Georgian townhouses, Edinburgh is a hymn to measure and harmony. But on Scotland Street, domestic accord is in short supply. Matthew and Elspeth welcome three new arrivals, though the joys of multiple parenthood are somewhat lost due to sleep deprivation and the difficulties of telling their brood apart. Angus and Domenica are to marry, and Domenica has ambitious and disturbing plans for their living arrangements, especially when it appears that Antonia, in Italy recuperating from Stendhal Syndrome, may not return. And little Bertie, feeling blue, puts himself up for adoption on eBay. Can Edinburgh's most deliciously dysfunctional residents forsake discord and learn to dance to the same happy tune?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The continued tales from 44 Scotland Street

Another delightful update about the residents of 44 Scotland Street (and their near neighbours in Moray Place, India Street and other areas of Edinburgh's New Town). Mature love for Domenica and Angus, young love for Matthew and Elspeth (and their triplets), questionable love for Pat and the horrible Bruce, married love (?) for Irene and Stuart and the possibility of new love for Big Lou form the background to the continued story of Bertie. He is still struggling to make his mother understand that there is more to life than psychotherapy, clarinet lessons and Italian conversation whilst he makes drastic plans with his new friend "Braveheart" (with the spindly legs) and battles on against the repellent Olive. Is Bertie's sweetness, innocence and perpetual optimism to be rewarded by light at the end of the tunnel - listen to the wonderful reading by David Rintoul and find out!
Read full review

- Jill Besterman


I've always been a huge fan of Alexander McCalls books and wondered how they would be on Audible. I'm not disappointed..I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this and the narrator has done a fantastic job.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-10-2011
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK