Watch out - the Earth just fell into a dark sun's orbit! Or maybe you'd rather visit a theme park called Hell? These are just two of the strange and unnerving tales you'll find in this collection of great science fiction and fantasy stories. Take your imagination into futuristic and mystical worlds where gravity can kill and humans become walking biochip labs. See the world through the eyes of a four-legged creature in Susan Shwartz's "Critical Cats", and meet an electronic storyteller in Isaac Asimov's "Someday". The other stories include Greg Bear's "Blood Music," Ben Bova's "The Man Who Hated Gravity", Arthur C. Clarke's "Breaking Strain", Fritz Leiber's "A Pail of Air", Kristine Kathryn Rusch's "Sing" and "Story Child", Dan Simmons's "Vanni Fucci Is Alive and Well and Living in Hell", Connie Willis's "Ado", and Jane Yolen's "Green Messiah."
©198 8; 1990 by Kristine Kathryn Rusch; 1956 by Royal Publications; 1991 by Susan Shwartz; 1951 by Galaxy Publishing Corporation, Renewed 1978 by Fritz Leiber; 1949 by Arthur C. Clarke; 1988 by Jane Yolen; 1989 by Davis Publications; 1987 by Kristine Kathryn Rusch; 1983 by Greg Bear (P)1991 Dove Audio
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £16.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £16.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Kindle Customer on 01-09-17

An enjoyable colleciton

Any additional comments?

I thought this was a good collection of stories, even a bit unsettling at times. There's a good variety and a lot of stories I didn't think I'd like that I ended up quite enjoying. The narration is superb, with a special mention to "Blood Music" which was done so well that is sort of messed me up for the day.

The formatting of the stories is odd, I don't think the Audible chapters line up with the chapters of the story, and there's this weird spooky interlude music that makes it feel like an audio drama. It's not that a big a deal but still worth mentioning. Not sure if I would have been happy paying a full credit for it but I had a £5 voucher and for that the book was a steal.

Read more Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By thomas on 20-02-17

Mixed quality

Mixed bag with some gems in there, but to be expected from a collection like this.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Noah on 25-08-10

Cute stories, clunky format

The stories in this anthology are not the most mind-blowing or the most exciting I've read, but they are generally very solid - my favorites were Susan Schwartz's "Critical Cats," Fritz Leiber's "A Pail of Air," and Isaac Asimov's "Someday." Arthur C. Clarke's "Breaking Strain" and Dan Simmons' "Vanni Fucci is Alive and Well and Living in Hell" are also strong. In general, the stories in this anthology are cute rather than brilliant. The narrator is good.

The format, however, is kind of annoying, since the audiobook chapters do not begin and end where the stories begin and end; thus, it is impossible to go to the beginning of a story. I'm not sure why they divided the chapters this way. Also, the anthology is a little short for the price.

Read more Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Donna on 01-01-07

Worth double the price

This is a rare collection of science fiction stories, and the readers are great! I recommend this collection to anyone who enjoys being entertained by great fiction.

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all reviews