Blood and Blade : The Bernicia Chronicles

  • by Matthew Harffy
  • Narrated by Barnaby Edwards
  • Series: The Bernicia Chronicles
  • 10 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

635AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and third instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
Oswald is now King of Northumbria. However, his plans for further alliances and conquests are quickly thrown into disarray when his wedding to a princess of Wessex is interrupted by news of a Pictish uprising.
Rushing north, Oswald leaves Beobrand to escort the young queen to her new home. Their path is fraught with danger and uncertainty, Beobrand must try to unravel secrets and lies if they are to survive.
Meanwhile, old enemies are closing in, seeking brutal revenge. Beobrand will give his blood and blade in service to his king, but will that be enough to avert disaster and save his kith and kin from the evil forces that surround them?

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This series just gets better and better

What made the experience of listening to Blood and Blade the most enjoyable?

This is the 1st time I have listened to an audio book coupled with a kindle edition and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The narrator has done a great job bringing these characters and this world to life and I will certainly be looking for the next in the series.


What did you like best about this story?

I love the way Beobrand has grown over these books and how the characters from his past return as they try to extract their sworn vengeance as he tackles new quests while always looking over his shoulder for the troubles he has left behind.


Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I hate the author for disposing of some of my favourite likeable characters throughout the series but the fact that he is not afraid to do so mean you are never sure who will survive and this greatly enhances the book as you go through the many twists, turns peaks and troughs in Beobrands life.


Any additional comments?

The storyline here is fantastic and this is certainly the best in the series so far but as each book gets better and better I am really excited to see where this series will go next and do not want to see this series ever end.

I am so glad that I came across this author.

Read full review

- Eddie

A tale about the real Kings and Lords in the North

I liked Bernard Cornwall's Anglo Saxon Chronicles, but I loved this.

History brought to life.
Read full review

- Kurtis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-12-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios