Summary

635AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and third instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
Oswald is now King of Northumbria. However, his plans for further alliances and conquests are quickly thrown into disarray when his wedding to a princess of Wessex is interrupted by news of a Pictish uprising.
Rushing north, Oswald leaves Beobrand to escort the young queen to her new home. Their path is fraught with danger and uncertainty, Beobrand must try to unravel secrets and lies if they are to survive.
Meanwhile, old enemies are closing in, seeking brutal revenge. Beobrand will give his blood and blade in service to his king, but will that be enough to avert disaster and save his kith and kin from the evil forces that surround them?
©2016 Matthew Harffy (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £18.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Eddie on 29-03-17

This series just gets better and better

What made the experience of listening to Blood and Blade the most enjoyable?

This is the 1st time I have listened to an audio book coupled with a kindle edition and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The narrator has done a great job bringing these characters and this world to life and I will certainly be looking for the next in the series.

What did you like best about this story?

I love the way Beobrand has grown over these books and how the characters from his past return as they try to extract their sworn vengeance as he tackles new quests while always looking over his shoulder for the troubles he has left behind.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I hate the author for disposing of some of my favourite likeable characters throughout the series but the fact that he is not afraid to do so mean you are never sure who will survive and this greatly enhances the book as you go through the many twists, turns peaks and troughs in Beobrands life.

Any additional comments?

The storyline here is fantastic and this is certainly the best in the series so far but as each book gets better and better I am really excited to see where this series will go next and do not want to see this series ever end.

I am so glad that I came across this author.

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By P. Craine on 09-10-17

Good old Beo

Another enjoyable book with more to come (thank the Gods)
I have no choice now but to read the next book.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Kindle Customer on 20-04-18

an entertaining series.

Listened to this book while I worked outside around my ranch. It made the time go quickly.

Read more Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By KES on 03-02-18

another entertaining adventure through time

I am a fan of Harffy and I appreciate his love of history. one criticism I have is he puts refined language into the mouth of his hero in such a way I find unbelievable for the son of a churl.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews