Calling Major Tom

  • by David M. Barnett
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • 11 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Calling Major Tom is a funny, uplifting tale of friendship and community about a man who has given up on the world...but discovers in the most unlikely way that it might not have given up on him.
We all know someone like Thomas. The grumpy next-door neighbour who complains to the residents' committee about the state of your front lawn. The man who tuts when you don't have the correct change at the checkout. The colleague who sends an all-company email when you accidentally use the last drop of milk.
Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems. But beneath his cranky exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world.
An irresistible and heartwarming tale of a very unexpected friendship, perfect for fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and A Man Called Ove.
You'll laugh, you'll cry and you will cheer on all the curmudgeons in your life.
Read by David Thorpe.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Feeling Blue?

Oh my, this is a sweet book and an easy listen.

No nasty psychotic murderers, no complicated plot twists, no major worries that there will be an unbearably sad ending.

If you are hoping to find a book filled with redemption, gentle amusement and really good narration, give this one a go. It may make your day a little brighter.
Read full review

- Jumpin' Bean

Wonderful

The Imagination and sensitivity, skilfully used to weave this story together is quite unnervingly brilliant. Reigniting the memories of the past few decades through memories of TV programs, , icecream and weather is ingenious. This book had me chuckling, laughing and crying. The characters are honest and believable and varied. Such a different book from my usual choice, one I bought through pure frustration and sheer accident. love the granny character.
Read full review

- heraldicrose

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-01-2017
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited