Calling Major Tom

  • by David M. Barnett
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • 11 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Calling Major Tom is a funny, uplifting tale of friendship and community about a man who has given up on the world...but discovers in the most unlikely way that it might not have given up on him.
We all know someone like Thomas. The grumpy next-door neighbour who complains to the residents' committee about the state of your front lawn. The man who tuts when you don't have the correct change at the checkout. The colleague who sends an all-company email when you accidentally use the last drop of milk.
Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems. But beneath his cranky exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world.
An irresistible and heartwarming tale of a very unexpected friendship, perfect for fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and A Man Called Ove.
You'll laugh, you'll cry and you will cheer on all the curmudgeons in your life.
Read by David Thorpe.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fabulous original funny sweet sad thoughtful book

This story draws you in gently and before you know it you want to listen to it all the time. I really enjoyed it.
It does leap back and forth in time but it works. The characters are believable and brilliantly described. I love the (spoiler) grumpy attitude of Major Tom and learning why he is like that.
The predicament of the family is realistic and topical.
Overall a great book, well crafted and brilliantly narrated

Read full review

- S S.

Is this a silly tale or a clever story?

This reminded me of "100 year old man who climbed out of a window" BUT is so much more satisfying . It is warm, poignant, funny and hugely entertaining. Unusual but interesting story - sometimes predictable but couldn't wait for the next bit. The author has the pace just right- I was never bored.
This is bound to be made into a film and would be excellent.
Read full review

- Dappledwood

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-01-2017
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited