Chart Throb

  • by Ben Elton
  • Narrated by Glen McCready
  • 15 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The ultimate pop quest. Ninety-five thousand hopefuls. Three judges. Just one winner. And that’s Calvin Simms, the genius behind the show.
Calvin always wins, because Calvin writes the rules. But this year, as he sits smugly in judgement upon the mingers, clingers, and blingers whom he has pre-selected in his carefully scripted ‘search’ for a star, he has no idea that the rules are changing. The ‘real’ is about to be put back into ‘reality’ television, and Calvin and his fellow judges (the nation’s favourite mum and the other bloke) are about to become ex-factors themselves.
Ben Elton, author of Popcorn and Dead Famous returns to blistering comic satire with a savagely hilarious deconstruction of the world of modern television talent shows. Chart Throb. One winner. A whole bunch of losers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I will never know if this is a good book

I have listened to all of Ben Elton's books and have really enjoyed most of them. Unfortunately I will never know if this is a good book or not, I found the narrators slow overly dramatic voice too much to even consider putting up with him for 15 long hours. I even tried listening at double speed on my ipod and that was just as bad. The speed and pauses were less of a problem but still present even at double speed but the dramatic poetry reading style just doesn't convey the story. What a shame, I was looking forward to this one as Ben Elton can be very insiteful with his social observations used for a basis of his novels.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Really well done

Though I agree that the first 20 minutes of this is not his best work, as the reading continues, he really gets good, he has a brilliant array of voices for the major and supporting characters (in particular Beryl the transvestite super-judge and HRH The Prince of Wales) and I really found myself enjoying and being drawn into this story.
Read full review

- Adam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-04-2010
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks