Children of the Tide : The Hungry Tide

  • by Val Wood
  • Narrated by Anne Dover
  • Series: The Hungry Tide
  • 18 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It is the late 1850s, and a tired woman holding a baby walks from Hull to one of the big houses in Anlaby - the home of the wealthy Rayners. She knocks at the door and shoves the baby at young James Rayner. The father was 'young Mr Rayner', and the mother is dead. Then she vanishes.
The respectable shipping family of Hull are shattered. No one wants to take responsibility for the baby, and it is about to be put into an orphanage when Sammi, James' cousin, decides to take the baby back to her parents' home on the Holderness coast. James is banished to London, and disaster begins to beset the three branches of the Rayners.
The third novel in the Hungry Tide sequence, this epic, many-faceted story of three related families tells the triumphs and tragedies of their lives as the whaling industry of Hull begins to decline and the farmlands and homes continue to slip into the sea.
If you enjoy books by Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, you'll love Val's heartwarming stories of triumph over adversity.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The end too a beautifully written triology.

This triology I read apart over a few years not knowing there were 3 .Read them back to back as it is such a triumph in story telling that I wouldn't want you too not feel the greatness off these works and the characters they Intwine. I have read/listened so many of this author's and narrators work and I can not fault her imagination and oceans of words for such every day things
It should be recognised for its achments and I hope you enjoy them as much as I did .
Read full review

- Kathst

Exceptional end to a trilogy

I adored this final tale in this trilogy starting with "A hungry tide" followed by "Annie" and beautifully completed with this book. All three are excellent stand alone books but complete as a trilogy which I luckily found by accident
Read full review

- carol white

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-07-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audio Books