Christmas on the Mersey

  • by Annie Groves
  • Narrated by Sue Jenkins
  • 10 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An emotional and compelling wartime drama from the author of Only a Mother Knows and A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.
The phoney war is over and Hitler's bombs are raining down on the city of Liverpool. Rita Kennedy is forced to face some unpalatable truths about her husband, Charlie. But she must still play the part of dutiful wife, while her childhood sweetheart, Jack Callaghan, has shown her nothing but kindness. Can they keep a check on their emotions or will their friendship develop into something more?
For Kitty Callaghan, burying herself in her work distracts from the constant worry about her brothers. Tommy is back from his evacuee posting after falling ill, but now he faces danger in another guise. And what about Danny, always ducking and diving and up to no good? And then there's Frank Feeny, the man she adores. Will they ever be together?
With a Christmas of rationing and 'going without' to look forward to, the women of Empire Street are being tested like never before. But their troubles are only just beginning....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Captivating family drama excellent

Captivating story with great characters. I was left at the end of the book wondering what would happen to the characters from there there is so much more to this. sue Jenkins was a joy to listen to as the narrator of this book and I will definitely listen to more books read by her she puts everything into what she is reading.
The book alive in only a way that a good narrator can
Read full review

- Miriam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-10-2014
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited