• Conquests

  • Hearts Rule Kingdoms
  • By: Emily Murdoch
  • Narrated by: Katie Bunn
  • Length: 7 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 07-02-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Emily Murdoch
  • 5 out of 5 stars 5.0 (1 rating)

Summary

England, 1069. The nation is still recovering from the Norman invasion three years earlier - and adjusting to life under its sometimes brutal new rulers. A young girl trembles in the shadows of what was once her home. Avis is homeless and penniless, and with no family left alive she is forced to become a ward of Richard, the Norman lord who has taken her home.
But when King William decrees that Norman lords must marry Anglo-Saxon women Avis must make a terrible choice. Either marry the repulsive Richard or else take a chance on another Norman, Melville, a man she has never met.
Soon she realizes that survival in a time of turmoil and war depends on putting aside the prejudices of the past.
Conquests is a brilliantly researched and involving historical drama that is perfect for fans of Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory.
©2013 Emily Murdoch (P)2017 Emily Murdoch
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Renee on 03-05-18

Conquered by love

I loved this narrator!!! She did a great job of switching between voices - she didn't miss a beat. Avis and Melville are forced to get married both are pretty bitter about it. The author did a great job of growing the characters and slowly developing a relationship between husband and wife. I like the audio so much I bought the ebook. This is one I will listen to again and read.

Read more Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Nicole Posey on 02-12-17

outstanding

outstanding and refreshing!! so different from reading it to listening to it!!! takes on a whole new meaning for me!!!! still love it and want more!!!!!

Read more Hide me
See all reviews