• by Edgar Allan Poe, Rudyard Kipling, Robert Frost
  • Narrated by Colleen Delany, Grover Gardner
  • 6 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dark offers chilling stories about the things that scare us the most: murder, hauntings, insanity, and our own vulnerability. Examined through the eyes of some of the world's most gifted writers - Edgar Allan Poe, Rudyard Kipling, Robert Frost, W.W. Jacobs, Iain Banks, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Isaac Bashevis Singer, Will Self, Marjorie Bowen, A.M. Burrage, Blue Balliet - we feel the malice of serial murderers, the cold evil of the undead, the unreasoning hatred of the insane, and, most of all, the incomprehensible suffering of their victims. Part of the Arenaline Book® Audio Series.


What the Critics Say

"Listening to [this series] is an armchair adventurer's dream...let your imagination go." ( Independent Publisher)
"Listen & Live Audio's new series will take your breath away and send your heart racing." ( AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good stories, let down by random chapter setup :(

Interesting and thoughtful introduction plus a short biography of the authors before each story. Good stories a number I had never heard before (and I've heard a lot. (mostly - I skipped the 2 serial killer ones, a bit too 'dark' for me) and really great performances.

Unfortunately this collection is let down by poor chapter organisation. Annoyingly many of the stories start and stop mid-chapter so if you want to listen to a particular one again you have manually scroll through to find to next!

Stories included are:
'Smee' - Alfred M Burrage.
'The Crown Derby Plate' - Marjorie Bowen
'The Cafeteria' - Isaac B Singer
Extract from 'The Wasp Factory' - Iain Banks (skipped by me).
'Home Burial' - Robert Frost
'They' Blue Balliett.
'The Cask of Amontillado' - Edgar A Poe
'The Monkey's Paw' - W. W. Jacobs
'My Idea of Fun' - Will Self (skipped by me - contains strong language).
'They' - Rudyard Kipling.
'The Yellow Walpaper' - Charlotte P Gillman.

Read full review

- Ms. E. Morgan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-12-2000
  • Publisher: Listen & Live Audio, Inc.