Dictator : Imperium

  • by Robert Harris
  • Narrated by David Rintoul
  • Series: Imperium
  • 13 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

There was a time when Cicero held Caesar’s life in the palm of his hand. But now Caesar is the dominant figure, and Cicero’s life is in ruins.
Exiled, separated from his wife and children, his possessions confiscated, his life constantly in danger, Cicero is tormented by the knowledge that he has sacrificed power for the sake of his principles.
His comeback requires wit, skill and courage - and, for a brief and glorious period, the legendary orator is once more the supreme senator in Rome.
But politics is never static, and no statesman, however cunning, can safeguard against the ambition and corruption of others.
Riveting and tumultuous, Dictator encompasses some of the most epic events in human history yet is also an intimate portrait of a brilliant, flawed, frequently fearful yet ultimately brave man - a hero for his time and for ours.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

At last!

Needless to say, Bill Wallis is sadly missed. He was fabulous as Tiro, and in so many other rôles! It took a wee while to adapt to David Rintoul, though I've enjoyed his reading very much in other books. I'd got the feeling of Tiro as an educated provincial, but here Rintoul sounds upper-crust and establishment. Still, we all needed to hear the end of Cicero's life, and even more come to a resolution to the life of Tiro, who lived so, so long, and survived "interesting" times.
Robert Harris has, however, kept me enthralled through 3 fat volumes on the life of Cicero, studied in Latin in my schooldays and written off as a pompous old bore. He was that, but more too. "Non modo, sed etiam."
Read full review

- Mary Carnegie

A good comparison to Shakespeare's play

A very polished performance. Caesar comes across very differently from Shakespeare's play - he comes across as cold, calculating and ruthless, not the great statesman murdered by jealous rivals.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-10-2015
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks