Don't Mean Nothin

  • by John Mort
  • Narrated by Gene Engene
  • 7 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

These 12 stories reflect the combat infantry experience of the Vietnam War--in the gritty “Tanks,” “Called of God,” and “Incubation Period.” There’s also the woman’s perspective of Arlene, a naive Red Cross volunteer or “Doughnut Dolly,” in “A Man’s World.” Mort captures veterans’ experiences in “Rest Stop,” a woeful, divorced man’s tale; “Hallelujah By and By,” a dark, almost supernatural story set in the Arkansas Ozarks; and “Behind Enemy Lines,” the story of a homeless, damaged man who at last finds his way home. All but two of these stories were previously published in such magazines as GQ and the Missouri Review, or in the collection, Tanks. Mort served with the First Cavalry in 1969 and 1970, near Tay Ninh, as an RTO.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Awful Narrating

Potentially good subject matter ruined by the horrific narrator.

To my ear, his accent does not lend its self to narrating, coupled with his inability to capture the listeners attention due to his mumbling drone.

10 minutes was all I could stand, then deleted it from my device.
Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-01-2012
  • Publisher: Books in Motion