Doug Bradley's Spinechillers, Volume Five

  • by Edgar Allan Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle, Ambrose Bierce
  • Narrated by Doug Bradley
  • 3 hrs and 15 mins
  • original_recording Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Welcome to Volume Five of one of the world's largest collections of high quality, classic horror short-story audiobooks. If you're at home, then get some logs ready and put on your most comfortable slippers, as we kick things off with Doug Bradley's well-researched introduction to the authors and stories featured in this volume.
Ambrose Bierce brings us "The Death of Halpin Frayser", an intriguing tale of a young man's increasingly spooky comings together with his mother, alive and dead.
The next story may well be Edgar Allan Poe's most famous, and it is certainly amongst his best; "The Fall of the House of Usher" is tour de force of classic horror writing brought to life as only Renegade can do it.
Following Poe's epic masterpiece is "How It Happened", a short and sweet piece from Arthur Conan Doyle about a runaway car and it's impact on the narrator's life.
Then, another great story from the imagination of Conan Doyle, "Lot No. 249". This epic story, at over 80 minutes in length, is the longest we've released so far. It is also acknowledged as the story that kicked off the malevolent mummy genre, inspiring many more stories and movies.
We round off this volume with Edgar Allan Poe's beautiful poem "For Annie", one of our favorites and a lovely, heartbreaking way to bring this volume to a close.
So throw those logs on the fire, turn off the lights and settle in to hear some of the worlds best short horror stories, read by one of the worlds best narrators... unless you're going to listen to the stories in the car, in which case please enjoy while driving safely.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great stories and great reader

This series just gets better and better, since volume four Doug has given a short introduction that really adds to the stories. I also like the quiet and clear way that Doug reads and the collections come across as brilliant performances quite aside from the excellent choices of material.
Read full review

- Brian

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-04-2011
  • Publisher: Renegade Arts Entertainment Ltd