Every Woman for Herself

  • by Trisha Ashley
  • Narrated by Julia Barrie
  • 9 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

First comes marriage. Then comes divorce. Then it's every woman for herself....
Every Woman for Herself is a hilarious account of divorce and dating from Sunday Times best seller Trisha Ashley. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews, the country setting and rom-com storyline make this the perfect summer companion.
When Charlie's husband Matt tells her that he wants a divorce she has to start from scratch. Suddenly single, broke, and approaching 40 she is forced to return to her childhood home in the Yorkshire moors.
Living with her father and eccentric siblings could be considered a challenge but soon Charlie finds her new life somewhat refreshing. Now that she's single she's got no need to dye her roots nor to be the perfect wife and she can return to her first love - painting.
But just as she begins to feel settled, handsome, bad-tempered actor Mace North moves in down the road and starts mixing things up for Charlie in more ways than one....

More

What the Critics Say

"One of the best writers around!" (Katie Fforde)
"Full of down-to-earth humour." (Sophie Kinsella)
"A warm-hearted and comforting read. Trisha at her best" (Carole Matthews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Original Storytelling

In Every Woman for Herself the main character Charlie, named for Charlotte Bronte, seems to be on a 'journey' to find her own strength through adversity. She has a family of siblings all also named for the other Bronte siblings, by their Bronte obsessed father; but there is a twist waiting here!

The book is mostly set in Yorkshire, which I suppose is essential for the Bronte connection. It is peppered with the alternative magazine articles that Charlie is writing to entertain herself. It has some almost black comedy to do with squashed watermelons. I think Trisha Ashley could win prizes for the originality of some of ideas. The narrator is absolutely fine too.

All in all, quite a complex story line, with lots of characters who play a small but important part in the plot. There are also some main central characters who all live happily ever after, or alternatively get what they deserve!
Read full review

- Katie

great story!

I loved the story but really didn't like the way the reader spoke the men's part. just read the story! don't do voices.
Read full review

- Mrs. A. L. Lilley "Rea"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-04-2015
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited