• Expanded Universe, Vol. 1

  • By: Robert A. Heinlein
  • Narrated by: Bronson Pinchot
  • Length: 9 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 09-06-15
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.5 (11 ratings)


Robert A. Heinlein has been hailed as one of the most forward-thinking science fiction writers of all time, and Expanded Universe (presented in two volumes) offers the perfect collection of his works to provide listeners with true insights into his uniquely creative mind.
Heinlein personally selected each story or essay for inclusion in this collection, which is ordered chronologically, starting with his first sale in 1939 of "Life-Line" to Astounding. This remarkable collection highlights the development of Heinlein's writing style and his philosophy on life throughout his career.
More importantly this collection is as close to an autobiography as anything Heinlein wrote during his life. Heinlein was an extremely private person who never wrote much about himself. In this exclusive collection, he offers forewords to most of his stories and essays (and an occasional afterword), giving listeners a rare glimpse into the inner mind of the master.
Expanded Universe is a must-have for any Heinlein enthusiast and any fan of science fiction.
©2015 Robert A. Heinlein (P)2015 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £19.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By A E WHYTE on 03-05-17

Some great stories, as expected

Would you consider the audio edition of Expanded Universe, Vol. 1 to be better than the print version?

Well, I haven't read the printed version but the audiobook is an excellent production. Very immersive.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Expanded Universe, Vol. 1?

Nothing in particular.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

None in particular.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?


Any additional comments?

My comments above may give the impression that I wasn't hooked by this collection, but I was. There were a couple of stories which bored me but the vast majority were excellent.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Peter on 06-11-15

A look at history.

RH started his writing at a critical time in our history. His observations are still valid. Enjoy.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Larry on 25-01-17

Still has the magic, "would that the world were"

It's the story well conceived and laid to the page that pulls in the mind, thus, earns the shekels that keeps the presses painting mind pictures.
If you are like myself in enjoying the Hineline mind, this book of stories reviels some part of how the
man saw potentials presented. realities

Read more Hide me
See all reviews