Exponential Apocalypse

  • by Eirik Gumeny
  • Narrated by Lee Ann Howlett
  • 5 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

There had been twenty-two apocalypses to date. There were now four distinct variations of humanity roaming the Earth - six, if you counted the undead.
It had been suggested that there really should have been a new word to describe "the end of everything forever," but most people had stopped noticing, much less caring, after the tally hit double digits. Not to mention the failure of "forever" in living up to its potential.
The last apocalypse wasn't even considered a cataclysm by most major governments. It was just a Thursday.
Exponential Apocalypse is the tender, heart-stirring tale of crappy jobs, a slacker cult, an alcoholic Aztec god, reconstituted world leaders, werewolves, robots, and the shenanigans of multiple persons living after the twentieth-aught end of the world. Fast-paced, frenetic, funny, and frequently fond of other f-words, Exponential Apocalypse is the only book that will have you looking forward to the end of the world.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

When the apocalypse becomes just another day

The simplest way to describe this book would be, delightfully silly, at times it evokes the irreverent style of the likes of Pratchett or Adams, albeit without reaching such heights overall.

This is not your typical post-apocalyptic book, the premise is that there have been so many that they become almost mundane and people just have to get on with things anyway, at some point in the past science disproved religion so one of the main characters in this book is Thor who now works at a rundown NJ Holiday Inn where the other staff are a regular human and their manager who is a cyborg. Other notable character in the book are some clones of former presidents and Queen Victoria along with a super-powered squirrel named Timmy, which sort of lets you know what you are in for with this book.

The narration was decent overall, but it didn't really manage to elevate the book in the way that some performances manage to do so for some reason, but equally it did not detract from the book either and the narrator still managed to give suitably distinctive voices to all of the main characters.

Overall this was a quick and enjoyable listen and I would definitely consider future books from this author as I enjoyed the distinctive style of it quite a lot.

[I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.]

Read full review

- C. Rowlands

I don't think one more Apocalypse will kill us.

So you think what might happen after the apocalypse? Think again. Or, better yet, read this book. Not one, not two but 22 (and counting) have come and gone in this very funny story where we are initially introduced to a number of disparate characters before, in the latter third, we encounter the four horsemen and another battle to stop the end of the world.

Irreverent, silly and often laugh out loud numerous, especially in the earlier parts, this is a deliciously silly book to dip into with fallen gods and replication world rulers as well as a smattering of humans and zombies, all just trying to get by in a world not just gone mad but totally insane. Lucky that they are, too.

Narrator Lee Ann Howlett, unfortunately, was the wrong choice to read this crazy concoction, though she made a valiant attempt. She simply did not have the low range to cope with the numerous male voices (though I must comment her for her constant flat, deadpan rendering of Thor, throughout: marvellous) and a little more depth and warmth for the story would have made for a better listening experience. 

I can't really say much more about this story other than read it yourself if crazy comedy is your thing. My thanks to the rights holder who, at my request, gifted me a complimentary copy of Expotential Apocalypse, via Audiobook Boom. It was an experience which has stayed in my head long after the final crack of doom sounded.
Read full review

- Norma Miles

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-04-2013
  • Publisher: Eirik Gumeny