Fat Chance

  • by Nick Spalding
  • Narrated by Heather Wilds, Napoleon Ryan
  • 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Meet Zoe and Greg Milton, a married couple who have let themselves go a bit.
Zoe was a stunner in her college days, but the intervening decades have added five stone, and removed most of her self-esteem. Greg's rugby-playing days are well and truly behind him, thanks to countless pints of beer and chicken curry.
When Elise, a radio DJ and Zoe's best friend, tells them about a new competition, it seems like the perfect opportunity to turn their lives around. Fat Chance will pit six hefty couples against one another to see who can collectively lose the most weight and walk away with a £50,000 prize.
So begins six months of abject misery, tears, and frustration-that just might turn out to be the best thing that ever happened to them - in another laugh-out-loud look at the way we live now from bestselling author Nick Spalding.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fat yarn

I listened to the end probably as I need to lose weight and I hoped it would inspire me. Maybe. What I didn't enjoy were the voices playing the leads. They didn't seem a good match to me and I found the female leads voice had weird intonations. The story was ok. Predictable I guess. I wouldn't recommend it.
Read full review

- Rowdy


The narration is awful. I found myself auguring with Ms Mills over how she be telling the story because her robotic, nasal voice was overwhelmingly irritating. The parts of the story I could focus on left me frustrated because of the writing. Nick Spalding talks of a curtain growling as it is pulled across; seriously? Growling? And uses narrative viewpoints that are impossible such as the woman in the changing room who's stuck in a dress so badly that she can only just see through the top of it but can somehow describe what the dress looks like round the waist. Just awful. I'm getting my money back. Avoid.
Read full review

- Loopygoose

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-10-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio