Fifth Business : Deptford Trilogy

  • by Robertson Davies
  • Narrated by Marc Vietor
  • Series: Deptford Trilogy
  • 10 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hailed by the Washington Post Book World as "a modern classic", Robertson Davies' acclaimed Deptford Trilogy is a glittering, fantastical, cunningly contrived series of novels, around which a mysterious death is woven.
This first novel in the trilogy introduces Ramsay, a man who returns from World War I decorated with the Victoria Cross but who is destined to be caught in a no man's land where memory, history, and myth collide. As we hear Ramsey tell his story, we begin to realize that, from childhood, he has influenced those around him in a perhaps mystical, perhaps pernicious way. Even his seemingly innocent involvement in as innocuous an event as throwing a snowball proves to be neither innocent nor innocuous in the end.


What the Critics Say

"A marvelously enigmatic novel, elegantly written and driven by irresistible narrative forces." (The New York Times)
"Robertson Davies is one of the great modern novelists." (Malcolm Bradbury, The Sunday Times, London)
"One of the splendid literary enterprises of this decade." (Newsweek)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Perfect story

Perfect story beautifully narrated with great tone. Slow build of plot well crafted and written well
Read full review

- jesjaspers

The first and best of this trilogy...

Each one loses narrative energy with each volume. The Cornish trilogy, and What's Bred in the Bone, are superior in wit, plot, invention and arcane lore, but none of Davidson's novels are given great readers to enliven them, and one or two on audible are almost sub-standard and painful. A waste.
Read full review

- James

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-12-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios