Four Past Midnight

  • by Stephen King
  • Narrated by James Woods, Ken Howard, Tim Sample, Willem Dafoe
  • 29 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

At midnight comes the point of balance. Of danger. The instant of utter stillness when, between two beats of the heart, an alternative reality can slip through, like a blade between the ribs, and switch you into a new and terrifying world.
Four Past Midnight: four heart-stopping accounts of that moment when the familiar world fractures beyond sense, the fragments spinning away from the desperate, clutching reach of sanity....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It crawls through the back of your neck

Four long novellas for the price of one book, what more could you ask for. Most writers would have padded the stories a little bit and sold them separately, but not Stephen King, his output is amazing and the stories are solid King territory, America at its best and worst, drunks and monsters, children and the terror of growing up with dark secrets and abuse ( a recurring theme in all of his books) these themes get put aside for in favor of emphasising the gore when discussing his work.

I have been re-reading his books and doing so I find patterns and repetitions that point to a man that is concerned with children's suffering and what changes them, alcohol is a big character in most stories a presence that changes lives a hiding place were horror gathers all its toys.

The Library policeman is the best story for my taste and the most disturbing. Sun Dog is surrealistic and the best father-son he has written. Langoliers is a very different time travel story. Secret Window Secret Garden, is a breakup story like no other. Take your pick, I take them all.
Read full review

- Wras "Kildonan by the sea"

Turgid nonsense, badly narrated

I am a Stephen King fan, but these four short stories must be the worst things he's ever written. All four are pointless and meandering codswallop.
But worse still, the four narrators are awful. The first seems to think English and South African accents are interchangeable. The second....actually I'll leave it there.
Avoid at all costs!!
Read full review

- S. Roberts

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-08-2016
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton