Ghost Light

  • by Joseph O'Connor
  • Narrated by Marcella Riordan
  • 9 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dublin 1907, a city of whispered rumours. An actress still in her teens begins an affair with a damaged older man, the leading playwright at the theatre where she works.
Rebellious, irreverent, beautiful, flirtatious, Molly Allgood is a girl of the inner city tenements, dreaming of stardom in America. Witty and watchful, she has dozens of admirers. But in the backstage of her life, there is a secret.
Her lover, John Synge, is a troubled, reticent genius, the son of a once prosperous landowning family, a poet of fiery language and tempestuous passions. Yet his life is hampered by Edwardian conventions and by the austere and God-fearing mother with whom he lives.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Once was not enough!

During my 10 hours of commuting every week I depend upon audio books to make this torture bearable. This offering of Joseph O'Connor was such a rare pleasure that I immediately set up my player to repeat the pleasure. The language is rich and colourful and many of his metaphors leave me sighing with envy. The characters are rounded and 3-D and wonderfully portrayed by Marcella Riordan. Her rendition of rude Irish is just great.
When I have completed this second hearing I shall buy the book so that I can underline my favourite passages so that I can plagiarise them at will.
This is the best since 'The Book Thief' in my opinion.
Read full review

- Timothy

Ghost Light

Very disappointing! I loved The Star of the Sea by Joeseph O'Connor so had looked forward to listening to Ghost Light. A few well written chapters but the story was disjointed and at times I struggled to understand what was happening. The story jumped back and forward in time which made it very difficult to warm to the characters. I persevered, thinking it would make sense in the end.......wish I hadn't, life is too short to waste on a poor novel.
Read full review

- Ann

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-06-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios