God of Vengeance : The Rise of Sigurd

  • by Giles Kristian
  • Narrated by Philip Stevens
  • Series: The Rise of Sigurd
  • 15 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Norway, AD 785. It began with the betrayal of a lord by a king....
King Gorm puts Jarl Harald's family to the sword but makes one fatal mistake - he fails to kill Harald's youngest son, Sigurd. His kin slain, his village seized and its people taken as slaves, Sigurd wonders if the gods have forsaken him. Hunted by powerful men, he is unsure who to trust, and yet he has a small band of loyal followers at his side.
With them - and with the help of the All-Father, Odin - he determines to make a king pay in blood for his treachery.
Using cunning and warcraft, Sigurd gathers together a fellowship of warriors - including his father's right-hand man, Olaf; Bram (whom men call Bear); Black Floki, who wields death with a blade; and the shield maiden Valgerd, who fears no man - and convinces them to follow him.
For whether Ódin is with him or not, Sigurd will have vengeance. And neither men nor gods had best stand in his way....
God of Vengeance is a must-listen for all who enjoy thrilling, action-packed fiction - from Bernard Cornwell to George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Blood, Betrayal, and Violent Vengeance

When Conn Iggulden praises a book it's more than enough for me to sit up and take notice. So, always keen to try a new author I have awaited the release of this book with more than a little eagerness. Was it worth the wait? Well, in brief Kristian has a new fan. This is fast-paced, bloody and brutal. Fans of Iggulden or Cornwell will find a happy new home for their ears in Kristian's care . . . if we can keep up of course because this is genuinely action packed!

Sigurd's rise is fast and compelling. The action scenes are excellent and the dark humour of the characters a consistent counterpoint. The narration from Philip Stevens is bang on and he brings the whole thing to life with plenty of enthusiasm. The scene of the vision in the marshes also shows how he can build a spooky atmosphere when required.

In summary if you like a fast-paced historical novel full of tough men, and women making and breaking oaths and don't mind your headphones getting a regular pelting of gore then this book is definitely one for you. For me, I pledge an oath upon Kristian's mighty sword-like pen to get the rest of his books as they are released on Audible. And he can hold me to that!
Read full review

- Simon

Superb

Loves it. Rips along with the pace that a cracking yarn should. Lots of characters, but it's a testament to the writer that they don't overwhelm the plot.
Fans of Gemmell won't be disappointed
Read full review

- Mr. J. Ambler

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-03-2016
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks