Summary

Norway, AD 785. It began with the betrayal of a lord by a king....
King Gorm puts Jarl Harald's family to the sword but makes one fatal mistake - he fails to kill Harald's youngest son, Sigurd. His kin slain, his village seized and its people taken as slaves, Sigurd wonders if the gods have forsaken him. Hunted by powerful men, he is unsure who to trust, and yet he has a small band of loyal followers at his side.
With them - and with the help of the All-Father, Odin - he determines to make a king pay in blood for his treachery.
Using cunning and warcraft, Sigurd gathers together a fellowship of warriors - including his father's right-hand man, Olaf; Bram (whom men call Bear); Black Floki, who wields death with a blade; and the shield maiden Valgerd, who fears no man - and convinces them to follow him.
For whether Ódin is with him or not, Sigurd will have vengeance. And neither men nor gods had best stand in his way....
God of Vengeance is a must-listen for all who enjoy thrilling, action-packed fiction - from Bernard Cornwell to George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones.
©2015 Giles Kristian (P)2015 Random House AudioBooks
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £23.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £23.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 13-03-16

Blood, Betrayal, and Violent Vengeance

When Conn Iggulden praises a book it's more than enough for me to sit up and take notice. So, always keen to try a new author I have awaited the release of this book with more than a little eagerness. Was it worth the wait? Well, in brief Kristian has a new fan. This is fast-paced, bloody and brutal. Fans of Iggulden or Cornwell will find a happy new home for their ears in Kristian's care . . . if we can keep up of course because this is genuinely action packed!

Sigurd's rise is fast and compelling. The action scenes are excellent and the dark humour of the characters a consistent counterpoint. The narration from Philip Stevens is bang on and he brings the whole thing to life with plenty of enthusiasm. The scene of the vision in the marshes also shows how he can build a spooky atmosphere when required.

In summary if you like a fast-paced historical novel full of tough men, and women making and breaking oaths and don't mind your headphones getting a regular pelting of gore then this book is definitely one for you. For me, I pledge an oath upon Kristian's mighty sword-like pen to get the rest of his books as they are released on Audible. And he can hold me to that!

Read more Hide me

17 of 17 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Judy on 08-03-17

Cracking good story

What did you like best about this story?

I enjoyed the delivery of this story, the reader really got into the feel of it. Perhaps a little too graphic with some of the gory details, but not so much that it worried me!!

Any additional comments?

In my opinion, on a level with Bernard Cornwell. Will be looking for more in this series.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By David Groveman on 29-09-16

Really good!

I read a lot of Bernard Cornwell and I felt that this was in some ways better than even his. Lots of action, lots of blood and characters you care about.

Read more Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amy Wakefield on 27-05-16

Absolutely Amazing!

This was an incredible book that I just could not put down. Great writing and I cannot wait for the next one!

Read more Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all reviews