Great Ghost Stories

  • by Edgar Allan Poe, Guy de Maupassant, Saki, Rudyard Kipling, M. R. James, O. Henry
  • Narrated by Dermot Kerrigan
  • 2 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A spine-tingling collection of classic ghost stories – a perfect way to pass those long winter nights! This set contains "The Tell-Tale Heart" by Edgar Allan Poe, "The Horla" by Guy de Maupassant, "Sredni Vashtar" by Saki, "The Mark of the Beast" by Rudyard Kipling, "Lost Hearts" by M.R. James and "The Furnished Room" by O. Henry.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

This collection of six horror classics is a spooky treat. Naxos AudioBooks pairs these masterful short stories with haunting classical music selections. Dermot Kerrigan demonstrates extraordinary skill in narrating from a variety of perspectives. He tackles Poe's "Tell-Tale Heart" with an unforgettable portrayal of the infamous madman. His nervous laughter and eccentric speech masterfully capture the character's chilling obsession. Then he switches from a crazy to a sane narrator as he delivers rich descriptions with finesse in Kipling's "The Mark of the Beast." Playing an observer in this tale, he sets an ominous mood and fills the story with excitement. Kerrigan's convincing narration creates an eerie, memorable audio experience as he skillfully gives each story its own voice.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-03-2012
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks