Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World

  • by Haruki Murakami
  • Narrated by Adam Sims, Ian Porter
  • 14 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Information is everything in "Hard-Boiled Wonderland". A specialist encrypter is attacked by thugs with orders from an unknown source, is chased by invisible predators, and dates an insatiably hungry librarian who never puts on weight. In "The End of the World" a new arrival is learning his role as dream-reader. But there is something eerily disquieting about the changeless nature of the town and its fable-like inhabitants. Told in alternate chapters, the two stories converge and combine to create a novel that is surreal, beautiful, thrilling, and extraordinary.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Well this is my 3rd Murakami from audible and I just love them. The story revolves around one main character whose whole existence becomes embroiled through dreams, fantasy and perhaps even reality at times with the "chubby girl" in pink, the General, the librarian and the Professor. All of whom seem to be forcing him towards his unknown destiny, when along the way he faces the terror of the inklings, the unicorns and other motley strange beasts. The story is strangely surreal but possesses such skill in the telling that every twist and turn is followed with great anticipation to the next junction in the road. It cannot be classed as exciting, however, once started the story carries you along in such a fascinating and imaginative way that it is impossible to put down.
Read full review

- Anthony

Another great Haruki Murakami book

I've always loved his books so I was very excited to pick this one up at audible. And of course he never disappoints.. I loved how the whole story comes together towards the end of the book.. A thoroughly enjoyable read!
Read full review

- Sung

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-11-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks