Home Truths : McCabe Sisters

  • by Freya North
  • Narrated by Phoebe James
  • Series: McCabe Sisters
  • 15 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Freya North reunites her popular McCabe girls - sisters Cat, Fen, and Pip - in her warm and sexy new novel. Despite their mother having run off with a cowboy from Denver when they were small, and having been brought up in a draughty house in Derbyshire by their eccentric uncle, Django, the McCabe girls actually consider themselves very normal and well-adjusted. Pip is stepmother to 10-year-old Tom, Fen has a young baby, and Cat has returned to England to start a family. Their mid 30s are promising to be a time of comfort and contentment. However, at their uncle's 70th birthday party, an unexpected guest arrives, and old family secrets are unearthed. Soon, new bombshells are dropped. Each sister must confront her own identity crisis and handle the threat this places on relationships. Freya North has written a truthful, funny, alluring tale of mothers, daughters, lovers and liars.


What the Critics Say

"You'll laugh, cry, then laugh some more." (Company)
"An engrossing emotional drama that's sure to feature on best-seller lists soon." (Eve)
"Tangled mother/daughter relationships unravel and tantalising family riddles keep you glued to the end." (Cosmopolitan)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A bit dull

I was very disappointed with this book as I normally love Freya North and I have listened to other books narrated by Phoebe James.
However, this book was a bit dull, the sisters were not very interesting and the events that did happen took so long that I lost interest. A sad ending though.
Read full review

- Elisabeth

home ruths

after listening to this book had to rush out to buy the preceding books eg Pip, Fen & Cat. Will certainly look out for more books by this author
Read full review

- Riverwater

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-12-2006
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks