Summary

A fresh and hilarious love story with the most wonderful kernel of truth to it. An uplifting and clever listen for fans of Graeme Simsion and Marian Keyes.
Julia is looking for Mr Right, but Ben is more Mr Right-Now-He-Could-Do-with-a-Bath.
You may think you know what kind of novel this is, but you'd be wrong.
Yes, Julia is a single-girl cliché, living alone with her cat in Vienna and working in a language school. And yes, a series of disastrous dates has left her despairing of ever finding The One - until Ben sits next to her on a bench. He's tall, dark, handsome....
And also incredibly hairy, barefoot, a bit ripe-smelling and of no fixed abode.
You guessed it - they fall in love, as couples in novels do. But can Julia overlook the differences between them, abandon logic and choose with her heart?
Funny, filthy (literally) and fizzing with life - and based on a true story! - this is the perfect antidote to all those books promising you that Prince Charming lives in a castle.
©2018 Emmy Abrahamson, 2018 Translation - Nichola Smalley (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Beautiful, sad and funny." ( Skanska Dagbladet)
"Simply very funny." ( Gothenburg Post)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Sarah Cole on 23-02-18

How to think outside the box

Some rather brilliant passages about the dreariness of conforming to middle class expectations. I think hippies are given rather a bad press in this book but I haven't been to Vancouver.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews