Summary

I know what my husband would say: that I have too much time on my hands; that I need to keep myself busy. That I need to take my medication. Empty nest syndrome, he tells his friends at the pub, his mother. He's always said I have a vivid imagination.
Marta and Hector have been married for a long time – so long that she finds it difficult to remember her life before him. He has always taken care of her, and she has always done everything she can to be a good wife. But when Hector comes home with a secret, their ordered domestic life begins to unravel, and Marta begins to see things, or perhaps to remember them. In the shadows there is a blonde girl that only Marta can see. And she wants something .
©2013 Emma Chapman (P)2013 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

“Fans of Before I Go To Sleep will love this chilling debut from Emma Chapman.” (Grazia)
”On the surface the book is a highly competent, creepy little chiller, but beneath, like a silent, bolted and half-dark room, there’s a much bigger, equally disconcerting story about the nature of feminine experience. It’s an accomplished debut from a writer who shows insight and emotional power.” (Hilary Mantel, Man Booker Prize winning author of Wolf Hall)
”A chilling study of paranoia and doubt… Chapman builds the tension, as Marta’s behaviour becomes more erratic and her seemingly benign husband begins to appear in a sinister light. An unnerving tale, where nothing is as it seems.” (Marie Claire)
”Wonderfully assured… This is a tale of the tricks repression, denial and memory can play on us… Set in an eerie, purposefully undefined part of Scandinavia, this is an unnerving, clever read. It’s one of those novels (think Gone Girl) with a big twist. Recommended for fans of S J Watson, Rosamund Lupton and Zoe Heller.” (Viv Groskop, Red)
”This taut debut will have you rooting for Marta as she rediscovers who she was before her marriage. A must-read for fans of S.J.Watson.” (Easy Living)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £16.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Flower Girl on 17-06-14

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear.

I wanted to listen to this book because of the reader, Fenella Woolgar who I think is utterly brilliant and because of the positive reviews. However, I soon found myself researching again, to see if anyone had found this book boring beyond belief. Half way through I was still un-engaged. I eventually just about managed to listen to the entire story with my my "Stoic hat" firmly planted on my head and as the closing credits were read I thought "Well that's a whole chunk of time I will never get back again!"

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Kaggy on 18-05-15

Sadly a good idea but a dreary story

Two hours into this story I decided I didn't really care if Marta was mad or Hector was bad. There is clearly something odd going on but the setting is so dull and the characters are so unengaging that I didn't feel any sense of tension or desire to unravel the mystery.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews