How to be a Good Wife

  • by Emma Chapman
  • Narrated by Fenella Woolgar
  • 6 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

I know what my husband would say: that I have too much time on my hands; that I need to keep myself busy. That I need to take my medication. Empty nest syndrome, he tells his friends at the pub, his mother. He's always said I have a vivid imagination.
Marta and Hector have been married for a long time - so long that she finds it difficult to remember her life before him. He has always taken care of her, and she has always done everything she can to be a good wife. But when Hector comes home with a secret, their ordered domestic life begins to unravel, and Marta begins to see things, or perhaps to remember them. In the shadows there is a blonde girl that only Marta can see. And she wants something .

More

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Before I Go To Sleep will love this chilling debut from Emma Chapman." (Grazia)
"On the surface the book is a highly competent, creepy little chiller, but beneath, like a silent, bolted and half-dark room, there's a much bigger, equally disconcerting story about the nature of feminine experience. It's an accomplished debut from a writer who shows insight and emotional power." (Hilary Mantel, Man Booker Prize winning author of Wolf Hall)
"A chilling study of paranoia and doubt... Chapman builds the tension, as Marta's behaviour becomes more erratic and her seemingly benign husband begins to appear in a sinister light. An unnerving tale, where nothing is as it seems." (Marie Claire)
"Wonderfully assured... This is a tale of the tricks repression, denial and memory can play on us... Set in an eerie, purposefully undefined part of Scandinavia, this is an unnerving, clever read. It's one of those novels (think Gone Girl) with a big twist. Recommended for fans of S J Watson, Rosamund Lupton and Zoe Heller." (Viv Groskop, Red)
"This taut debut will have you rooting for Marta as she rediscovers who she was before her marriage. A must-read for fans of S.J.Watson." (Easy Living)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Is she crazy, or is he bad!

Would you listen to How to be a Good Wife again? Why?

I really enjoyed this book. It was very well paced and really engaging. The author has engineered this book perfectly, so that the reader is never quite sure if the main character is mad or is her husband bad.


What did you like best about this story?

The sense of suspense and intrigue that the author creates and the pace of the story. It unwinds slowly, but never becomes dull.


Which scene did you most enjoy?

The scenes in which the main protagonist slowly emerges from the fugue of her own confusion.As readers we take this journey with her and want to be on her side, but there is always the seed of doubt about her sanity.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Definitely, but I savoured it over a few sittings.


Any additional comments?

Download this book and enjoy the journey!

Read full review

- Fiona

Sadly a good idea but a dreary story

Two hours into this story I decided I didn't really care if Marta was mad or Hector was bad. There is clearly something odd going on but the setting is so dull and the characters are so unengaging that I didn't feel any sense of tension or desire to unravel the mystery.
Read full review

- Kaggy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-03-2013
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd