• In the Garden of Temptation

  • The Garden Series, Book 1
  • By: Cynthia Wicklund
  • Narrated by: Helen Lloyd
  • Series: Garden Series, Book 1
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 31-12-12
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Cynthia Wicklund
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.5 (2 ratings)


Honor - Adam Stanford, Earl of Ashworth, has always done the right thing.
Desire - Lady Catherine Bourgeault, lonely and rejected, longs to experience passion, to love just once in her life.
Treachery - The Baron Bourgeault: to what extremes will an obsessive, unstable man go to achieve his own dark ends?
Seduction - In the face of a love that will not be denied, Adam and Catherine risk everything to be together.
Betrayal - What price must Catherine and Adam pay for a forbidden love in a time when honor meant everything?
©2010 Cynthia Wicklund (P)2012 Cynthia Wicklund
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £12.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Joan Reeves, NY Times and USA Today Bestselling Author on 17-01-13

Captivating Romance

In the Garden of Temptation was the second book of Wicklund's that I read. (The first was Lord of Always -- a wonderful romance with a paranormal element.) I'm thrilled that In the Garden of Temptation, a riveting romance, is now available as an audio book.

Helen Lloyd's proper, starchy English accent lends itself to this story full of neat twists and turns.

Adam Stanford, Earl of Ashworth, is a man who is honorable and above reproach. He's always done the right thing. Then he meets the beautiful -- and married -- Lady Catherine Bourgeault, the beautiful, young wife of one of the most disreputable men in England.

Stunned by a passion and a love that no amount of conscience can deny, Catherine and Adam risk everything for a few moments of stolen bliss. Unknown to them, every event from their introduction to the consummation of their love has been orchestrated by Catherine's evil, demented husband for his own dark purpose.

When Baron Bourgeault finally springs his trap, Catherine is forced to break Adam's heart in order to save him. The baron whisks her away to his crumbling castle in the country. As he sinks deeper and deeper into his psychosis, Catherine knows that her life, and all she holds dear, may be forfeit unless the power of redeeming love can save her.

Wicklund has a way with women characters and the knack for presenting them as likable and honorable even when they may not be engaged in honorable actions. I understand these women, and I like them. Her talent with characters extends to men. In this book, she takes an honorable man and makes him behave dishonorably, but we don't care! We still like him. We understand how he is in the grip of a love he never expected to feel. We see his battle with his conscience.

Wicklund's book is captivating and Lloyd's narration brings the book to life.

Read more Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Karen on 12-01-13

Excellent character development

In this book, even the villain triggers pity....
It was a good read where I rooted for everyone, secondary characters, Villain, hero and heroine.

Read more Hide me

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all reviews