Summary

Dr. Olivia Simon is on duty in the emergency room of North Carolina's Outer Banks Hospital when a gunshot victim is brought in. Midway through the desperate effort to save the young woman's life, Olivia realizes who she is - Annie O'Neill, the woman Olivia's husband, Paul, is in love with.
When Annie dies on the operating table, she leaves behind three other victims: Alec O'Neill, who thought he had the perfect marriage; Paul, whose fixation on Annie is unshakable; and Olivia, who is desperate to understand the woman who destroyed her marriage. Now they are left with unanswered questions about who Annie really was - and about the secrets she kept hidden so well.
©2002 Diane Chamberlain (P)2014 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Engrossing, satisfying entertainment." ( Library Journal)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £29.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £29.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Beloti on 04-04-18

not her best work

i finished the book, but i admit i fast forward some places. it was a little too drawn out. i feel that you could condense the book in half and still get the substance of the book

Read more Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Lulu on 27-10-15

Emotional Twisted Tale of Love, lies & Secrets

Wow, this is a book guaranteed to make you cry as the characters deal with grief, curl up in anger and/or anxiety and become restless with seeking and needing to know the truth!! Towards the end, the twisted lies and secrets begin to unfold and show how far acts of abuse, however far in the past can reach into the future if not dealt with. It's a story that tells of the importance of knowing and preserving history with the discernible need to leave the past behind in order to have a future.
This book was engaging from start to finish, well written and overall enjoyable. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes, Dorothy Koomson and the like will love Diane's books.

Read more Hide me

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By HOLLY AUSTIN on 12-05-15

Beautifully told

This story is so good, I might re - listen to it. The Narrator does an amazing job with this book. I would recommend this to everyone who loves a good love story .

Read more Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Elizabeth HC on 27-04-15

Captivating story and characters

Any additional comments?

The author creates interesting characters that I came to care about and will follow thru the rest of the series. She manages to weave history and details seamlessly throughout so that you end of learning about stained glass or lighthouses while following the trials and joys of the characters. Very much recommend!

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews