Lords of the White Castle : FitzWarin

  • by Elizabeth Chadwick
  • Narrated by Christopher Scott
  • Series: FitzWarin
  • 21 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Westminster, 1184. As a reward for loyalty to the crown, Fulke FitzWarin becomes companion to Prince John. But the FitzWarins are as proud as they are true, so when John accuses Fulke of cheating at chess, his response is inevitable - and disastrous. Thus begins a bitter and life-long personal rivalry. The FitzWarins dream of returning to their family home, Whittington, taken from them during a war. But John is vindictive and his delight in denying the FitzWarins what is rightfully theirs leads to Fulke's renouncing his allegiance and turning outlaw.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I was introduced to Elizabeth Chadwick via the books about William Marshall and that was nothing short of a masterpiece spread across two novels. I have been an avid fan ever since. I have never been over keen on historical novels by women as they always seemed to involve too much romance and not a lot of gritty realism. I came to the genre via Bernard Cornwell and enjoy the action and smell of the era so well described. This book and her others are a brilliant balance of love, war and feel of the time that makes the past real and balanced (not too much famine and poverty). Her characters are real (definitely in the case of Marshall). Also the masterstroke here is using a male voice for the narration making the whole production balanced for both male and female listeners to enjoy. More please!
Read full review

- Mogster

Mediaeval Magic

Elizabeth Chadwick transports us back to the time of dastardly Prince John - the hero this time is Fulke FitzWarin whose life at the start sounds remarkably like Robin Hood as the battle of wits continues Maud, his wife and he end up on the wrong end of the law as John hounds Fulke for a childhood arguement. A thoroughly enjoyable read again.
Read full review

- Lesley

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-07-2008
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books