Marking Time

  • by Elizabeth Jane Howard
  • Narrated by Jill Balcon
  • 18 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

At Home Place, the windows are blacked out and food is becoming scarce as a new generation of Cazalets takes up the story. Louise dreams of being a great actress, Clary is an aspiring writer, while Polly, is burdened with knowledge and the need to share it. This is the sequel to "The Light Years".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Cazalet Chronicles

To anyone unfamiliar with Elizabeth Jane Howard's work, the Cazalet Chronicles are wonderful books with which to begin, despite having been written quite late in her career. They follow the Cazlet family from 1938 until after the war has ended and to some extent are auto biographical. Her characterizations of the family members and her diaglogue for the children in the story are particularly accomplished and one is left enitrely convinced that these are real people and not just the producrt of the author's imagination. The awful Neville is my favourite - well, one of them anyway. The thing about these books is that they involve the reader/listener utterly and completely and one no sooner finishes one than one rushes on to the next to find out how things have turned out. Jill Balcon reads and interprets the boofks brilliantly: I cannot imagine anyone doing it better. Buy this series! If you love good, well crafted literature, you won't regret it!
Read full review

- Diana


I have downloaded confusion immediately!
The writing is superb and the narration fantastic. Don't get the abridged version I implore you!
Read full review

- Miss Librarian

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-08-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios