May We Be Forgiven

  • by A. M. Homes
  • Narrated by Nathan Osgood
  • 19 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Winner: Women's Prize for Fiction 2013
Harold Silver, a Richard Nixon Scholar, has spent a lifetime watching his younger, taller, and more successful brother, George. But Harry knows that George has a murderous temper, and when he finally loses control the result is an act of violence which hurls the two brothers into entirely new lives. A savage and dizzyingly inventive vision that penetrates the dark heart of contemporary America to tell a darkly comic tale of 21st-century domestic life and how one deeply fractured family might begin to put itself back together.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Don't believe the other negative views. This book is fantastic, crazy, compelling, funny and touching. Buy it.
Read full review

- L Scott

All about Harry

This is the story about what happens to Harry after his brother's terrible act. The brothers cannot be more different. George is violent and dominant whereas Harry is reflective and scholarly. Despite that Harry is still capable of wrongdoing and this is really a tale about Harry's quest for forgiveness.

This book is filled with intriguing characters and fascinating little vignettes, some of which were incredibly tense, but mostly they were hilarious. There are parts of this tale that made me laugh out loud and the dry New York humour is a delight. I must admit I didn't completely understand the sub-text about Richard Nixon but that didn't really detract from my enjoyment. The only slight criticism I would make is that I thought the plot fizzled out towards the end. I also would have liked to have learned more about Harry's relationship with George. I thought their exchanges were the best parts of the book and I wish there were more.

The narrator is does a brilliant job and is perfect for the material. I would have given this 4.5 stars if I could.
Read full review

- Kaggy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-10-2012
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks