Mightier than the Sword: Clifton Chronicles, Book 5 : Clifton Chronicles

  • by Jeffrey Archer
  • Narrated by Alex Jennings
  • Series: Clifton Chronicles
  • 12 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The fifth novel in the epic Clifton Chronicles series.
When the bomb goes off, how many passengers on the Buckingham lose their lives? You will only find out if you read the opening chapter of Mightier than the Sword.
When Harry visits his publisher in New York, he's told that he's been elected the new president of English PEN and immediately launches a campaign for the release of a fellow author, Anatoly Babakov, who's imprisoned in a Russian gulag in Siberia. Babakov's crime? Writing a book called Uncle Joe, an insight into what it was like to work as the interpreter for Josef Stalin. So determined is Harry to see Babakov released and the book published, he puts his own life in danger.
Emma Clifton, now the chairwoman of Barrington Shipping, is facing the repercussions of the IRA attack on the Buckingham. Some board members feel she should resign, but Sebastian Clifton, newly elected to the board, is determined that she'll remain chairwoman. Sir Giles Barrington is now a minister of the crown and looks set for even higher office until an official trip to Berlin does not end as a diplomatic success. Once again Giles' political career is thrown off balance by none other than his old adversary, Major Alex Fisher, who, for the second time, is selected to stand against him at the general election. But who wins this time? Sebastian asks his American girlfriend to marry him, and she happily accepts only to break off the engagement when she discovers what Seb has been up to behind her back.
Mightier than the Sword ends with two courtroom trials. One is a libel case held at the High Court in London, a fierce battle between Emma Clifton and Lady Virginia Fenwick, and no one can believe how far Virginia will go to make sure she wins. The second, a show trial, takes place in Russia after Harry is arrested as a spy. Thus continues volume five of the Clifton Chronicles.
This is Jeffrey Archer's most accomplished work to date, with all the trademark twists and turns that have made him one of the most popular authors in the world.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Still no ending?

If my memory serves me correctly this was originally a trilogy, then it became a chronicle, with 5 parts. BUT this book has again been left on a cliff hanger that points to another one in the series, I find this really annoying and doubt that I will bother with the next one as I feel I am being taken for a ride.
However, I did enjoy the book, apart from the overstated hatred and revenge shown by some of the characters, which I find quite unreal. The story was tense and interesting, BUT....... the ending has made me so cross and I am unwilling to wait a year to be left on yet another hook.
Read full review

- mollyeyre

A good yarn

Like so much of Jeffery Archer's writing, this was a compelling story - just don't expect high literature. I'm hooked, so he has achieved his aim!
Read full review

- Andy T

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-02-2015
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.