Mistress of the Just Land : Jean Brash Mysteries

  • by David Ashton
  • Narrated by Siobhan Redmond, David Ashton
  • Series: Jean Brash Mysteries
  • 10 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The first book in a new series by the creator of Inspector McLevy.
New Year's Day - and through the misty streets of Victorian Edinburgh, an elegant female figure walks the cobblestones with a certain vengeful purpose. Jean Brash, the mistress of the Just Land, brings her cool intelligence to solving a murder, a murder that took place in her own bawdy house (the best in Edinburgh and her pride and joy). A prominent judge, strangled and left dangling, could bring her whole life to ruin, and she didn't haul herself off the streets, up through low, dirty houses of pleasure and violent vicious men, to let that come to pass.
The search for the killers will take Jean back into her own dark past as she uncovers a web of political and sexual corruption in the high reaches of the Edinburgh establishment. A young boy's death long ago is demanding justice, but as the body count increases, she has little time before a certain Inspector James McLevy comes sniffing round like a wolf on the prowl. Jean may be on the side of natural justice, but is she on the side of the law? Or will the law bring her down?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

If you love McLevy you will love this

This is a story that gives some of the background to Jean Brash , whilst giving us a plot that twists and turns. As always Siobhan Redmond reading the bawdy house keeper is excellant and David Ashton is a good reader - although it did take me a while for the McLevy dialogue not to be said in the voice of Brian Cox. My only problem is that I want more- please hurry with the next in the series.
Read full review

- S Wood

Very bit as good as the rest of McLevy

Inspired! I absolutely loved this story & the narration as much as the BBC McLevy series. More please brilliant Mr. Ashton 😍
Read full review

- Ms. Sian A. O'flynn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-09-2016
  • Publisher: Two Roads