Mr American

  • by George MacDonald Fraser
  • Narrated by William Hope
  • 29 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mark Franklin came from the American West to Edwardian England with two long-barrelled .44s in his baggage and a fortune in silver in the bank. Where he had got it and what he was looking for no one could guess, although they wondered - at Scotland Yard, in city offices, in the glittering theatreland of the West End, in the highest circles of society (even King Edward was puzzled) and in the humble pub at Castle Lancing.
Tall, dark and dangerous, soft spoken and alone, with London at his feet and a dark shadow in his past, he was a mystery to all of them, rustics and royalty, squires and suffragettes, the women who loved him and the men who feared and hated him. He came from a far frontier in another world, yet he was by no means a stranger...even old General Flashman, who knew men and mischief better than most, never guessed the whole truth about Mr American.


What the Critics Say

Praise for Black Ajax: "Mr Fraser is a great historical novelist and in Black Ajax he is at the very top of his form. Damme if he ain't." (Christopher Matthew, Daily Mail)
"This is not a flashy novel, wearing its learning noisily. It's rigorous, intelligent, meticulously horrifying. Wonderfully well done." (Nicci Gerrard, Observer)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Egaging, witty, humorous!

Another classic from GMF the existence of which I knew nothing of until this audio version appeared on audible.

It's a really engaging book, with enjoyable overlaps with the life of Gen Sir Harry Flashman.

A decent length, I've had fun listening to it in recent days and it has just kept be company on the 12 hour drive up to the north of Scotland.

Well worth a listen/read.
Read full review

- Ed H-J

GMF at his best..Hope's delivery is perfect

GMF at his detailed best... Hope's delivery is perfect. Kept me listening all the way through in one sitting
Read full review

- Colin j Grant

Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-08-2015
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited