Mr Midshipman Hornblower : Horatio Hornblower (chronological order)

  • by C. S. Forester
  • Narrated by Christian Rodska
  • Series: Horatio Hornblower (chronological order)
  • 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Exclusively from Audible
The first episode, initially created as a prequel, of C.S. Forester's Horatio Hornblower series, sees 17-year-old Horatio as he embarks upon a navy career aboard HMS Justinian. Older than most other seamen training to become naval officers, Hornblower is initially ridiculed for his dull attitude and inexperience at sea. However, against all odds, Horatio rises to become an unlikely hero and faces a myriad of challenges aboard the ship and on foot in native lands. Set in January 1794, Hornblower works alongside his fellow officers, eventually rising through the ranks to battle against Napoleon as he tries to conquer Europe.
In this episodic audiobook, Forester treats listeners to ten chapters with self-contained incidents and adventures. From duels to shipwrecks and Spanish galleys to French ports, we follow Horatio as he becomes a formidable man of the sea. Adding depth and feeling to the narrative, he also comes to see the atrocities of war and the often unfortunate and needless suffering of the many who are involved. Whilst showing himself to be brave, principled and ingenious, Forester's hero is singular in his unrelenting feelings of self-doubt and reserve, which render him a more likeable and relatable leader and protagonist. Commended by the San Francisco Chronicle as 'one of the great masters of narrative' C.S. Forester wrote 10 other books in the Hornblower series, all of which can be found at Audible.
Narrator Biography
Christian Rodska is an English television and voice actor best known for his role in the 1970's series Follyfoot. From The Monuments Men and The Eagle of the Ninth to The Likely Lads, Z Cars, The Tomorrow People, Coronation Street, Bergerac and Casualty, his extensive and diverse acting career has led him to become a highly solicited radio and audiobook narrator.
He has now voiced over 150 unabridged audiobooks including Winston Churchill's biographies, Evelyn Waugh's Men at Arms and Sebastian Faulks' A Possible Life. He has been praised for his ability to vary in vocal pace and style and as such, Christian boasts 12 Earphone Awards from Audiofile Magazine.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Absolutely superb!

A really brilliant book and quite different from the ITV series. Considering this is only the first one as such I am really looking forward to the rest and highly recommend this one to anyone full stop!
Read full review

- Ben

Stirring from start to finish

Thanks to the TV series the early Hornblower novels are quite well known. This the first in the series is a stirring read, full of action and colour. The performance is very good. On to the next book
Read full review

- Mr Ian R Hames

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-05-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios