Muddy Boots and Silk Stockings : Land Girls Trilogy

  • by Julia Stoneham
  • Narrated by Patience Tomlinson
  • Series: Land Girls Trilogy
  • 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It's 1943 and the country is at war. An unlikely group of land girls are finding out about life, love and loss, forming surprising friendships along the way. When Alice Todd's husband runs off with another woman, she is forced to find a means to provide for herself and her young son. Accepting a position as a hostel warden at an old Devonshire farmhouse, Alice finds herself looking after ten volunteer land girls. The job is not as easy as it first seems. Not only does Alice have to deal with the uncompromising farm owner, but as her young charges arrive at the farm she discovers every girl has a story - and some have rather dark secrets.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Shame

I was a bit disappointed with this book. Don't get me wrong, the narration is excellent and the setting is perfect for great story. However, there were so many characters, that the writer didn't quite go into enough detail. You never really knew what the characters were thinking, or how they felt. The book was just a lot of descriptions of what the characters were doing. Considering this was set during a war, you never really got a sense of it. Sorry, it was dull.
Read full review

- K


Riveting This has brought people from all walks of life and melded them all together.
Excellent theme flows through out the entire story.
Read full review

- Christine Spencer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-02-2009
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books